Captions logo

Captions

Captions edits uploaded footage with cuts, B-roll, captions, and music, or generates a talking-head clip from a script. Subtitles are listed in 100+ languages. The pricing page shows a free version plus Max and three Frontier tiers, and it says those prices reflect iOS plans only.

Official website · captions.ai

Pricing model
Freemium
Main input
Footage, or a script for Prompt to Video
Output
Edited video, captions, or a generated talking head
Access
iOS, web, and Android account

Is Captions right for you?

Captions fits footage that needs an automatic cut, captions, and a translation, or a script that should become a presenter without a camera. It is a weak fit if you need a web or Android price. The page says features and prices reflect iOS plans only, and yearly billing is discounted without a shown rate. The free plan includes basic tools like trimming, transitions, and some media assets, with AI usage credits marked None. Generative edits and actors sit on Max and Frontier.

A good fit for

  • Running an AI edit on footage you already recorded, including captions and B-roll.
  • Generating a talking-head video from a script when you do not want to film.
  • Translating subtitles, or dubbing, and fixing eye contact and background noise.

Know the trade-offs

  • The public prices are labeled iOS plans only. Web and Android amounts are not on that page.
  • Generative tools are described as a reason to subscribe.
  • A yearly plan is billed upfront at a discounted rate, but the discount is not a number.

Edit footage, caption it, or generate a new talking head.

Edit a recording, or generate one from a script

The homepage says Captions' AI editing transforms footage into a fully edited video that's ready to share. AI Edit is the one-pass path: pick a style, and Captions automatically cuts scenes, overlays B-roll, and can auto-generate captions or translated subtitles. Named styles include Elevate, Paper, and Prime, and a demo switches the same video among those three. A chat-based editor takes prompts for a detail you want changed. The page also says the editor can remove pauses and filler words. If you have no footage, the help center says to use Prompt to Video to generate a talking-head video from a script in minutes. With footage, upload it and run AI Edit so captions, music, and formatting are applied. Sign-up is Google, Apple, email, or phone, on iOS, web, and Android. That intro says export at 1080p to TikTok, Instagram, YouTube, and more.

Official documentation

Add captions, a translation, and a cleanup pass

The help steps say to generate accurate captions with one tap, choose a style, adjust timing, and translate into 100+ languages. The homepage also says 100+ caption styles. The compare table is narrower on templates: Free shows 1, and Max and Frontier show 100+. Captions in 100+ languages are listed on all three columns, along with customizable captions and a transcript download. The homepage says the product can fix inconsistent eye contact, remove background noise, and trim pauses and filler words. Music is royalty-free music or sound effects generated for the video. AI Lipdub, AI Translate, AI Voice Clone, AI Denoise, and AI Censor are rows in the compare. It does say free AI usage credits are None, and the FAQ points generative tools at a subscription.

Official documentation

Reuse an avatar, including a former Mirage actor

The homepage says you can make an AI twin or choose a digital avatar, then reuse it across topics and prompt changes to outfits, backgrounds, or product inserts. Max's card adds digital twins or custom AI actors, a long video turned into clips, and generated B-roll, music, and images. Those sit with the credit pool, not with the free column's None. The homepage says Captions recently merged Mirage Studio with our other product, Captions. A former subscriber logs in online and should see existing projects and actors. The solutions page says more than 20 million people use the product. That count is the page's figure.

Official documentation

Spend credits, and keep some for later

Max lists 500 credits per month. Frontier, Frontier 2x, and Frontier 4x list 1,400, 2,800, and 5,600 credits, in that page order, each as everything in Max plus a higher tier and the most sophisticated models. The compare labels usage as Free None, Max Medium, and Frontier High. Unused credits roll over to the next month. You can keep two extra months, up to 3× the monthly allowance. An upgrade is immediate and prorated. A downgrade waits until the cycle ends. A yearly plan bills 12 months upfront at a discounted rate that is not shown as a number. Enterprise is custom pricing, with bulk credit discounts, custom seats, training data exclusion, and onboarding.

Official documentation

Ways to use Captions

A talking-head post from footage you shot

Is to upload the clip, pick one AI Edit style, and let the cut, B-roll, and captions land before a chat prompt changes one line. Read the captions, including a translated track, before you publish. How many credits one AI Edit spends is not stated.

A scripted presenter with no camera

Uses Prompt to Video when you have a script and no recording, then one-tap captions and a timing tweak. Max is the card that lists actors and 500 credits. Free usage credits are None, so this is not the free list of trimming and transitions. Which avatar controls sit on each plan is not listed.

Clips and a translation from a longer recording

A suggested repack uses the Max line that turns a long video into clips, then a translation. Subtitles are listed in 100+ languages, and the help intro publishes to TikTok, Instagram, and YouTube at 1080p. A former Mirage login should show old projects and actors. The public intro does not state whether a free export is watermarked.

How to get started with Captions

  1. 1

    Create an account

    Sign up with Google, Apple, email, or phone on iOS, web, or Android. The app is free to download, and some tools work without a subscription.

  2. 2

    Bring footage or a script

    Upload or record a video for AI Edit, or use Prompt to Video when you only have a script.

  3. 3

    Pick a style and captions

    Choose an edit style, generate captions, adjust timing, and translate if you need another language. Use the chat editor for a specific change.

  4. 4

    Export, then check the plan

    The help intro says export at 1080p and publish to TikTok, Instagram, or YouTube. Move to Max or Frontier if the edit needs credits.

Free tools, then Max and Frontier credits.

Check live pricing

Prices are USD, and features and prices reflect iOS plans only. Max is $24.99/mo with 500 credits. Frontier is $69.99/mo with 1,400 credits, Frontier 2x is $139.99/mo with 2,800, and Frontier 4x is $279.99/mo with 5,600. Enterprise is custom. Yearly billing is 12 months upfront at an unshown discount. Unused credits roll over, up to 3× the monthly allowance.

Free

Basic cuts without generative credits.

Free.

Free version.

  • Trimming, transitions, and some media library assets

Max

Generative edits, actors, and clips.

$24.99.

/mo.

  • 500 credits a month, AI Edit styles, and a chat-based editor
  • Digital twins or custom AI actors, clips, B-roll, music, and images

Frontier

More credits and the higher model tier.

$69.99.

/mo.

  • Everything in Max, plus 1,400 credits a month
  • The page's most sophisticated generative model tier

Frontier 2x

A larger monthly credit pool.

$139.99.

/mo.

  • 2,800 credits a month on the 2x usage tier

Frontier 4x

The largest listed credit pool.

$279.99.

/mo.

  • 5,600 credits a month on the 4x usage tier

Enterprise

A company package with seats and support.

Custom.

Custom pricing.

  • Bulk credit discounts, custom seats, and training data exclusion
  • Dedicated account management, onboarding, and early access

These dollar amounts are tied to iOS only. Free credits are None, and a per-action credit cost is not shown. Upgrades are prorated. Downgrades wait until the cycle ends.

Alternatives to Captions

CapCut

You want a general editor and do not need this credit ladder.

Captions documents AI Edit, Prompt to Video, and iOS plans from $24.99 to $279.99 with rolling credits. Choose CapCut when that credit meter is not the job.

Descript

You are comparing another AI video editor for recorded speech.

Captions' path is style-based AI Edit, one-tap captions, and actors billed in credits. Choose Descript when you do not need the Max and Frontier table.

HeyGen

The job is an avatar video more than an edit of your own footage.

Captions starts from footage or a script and prices actors on Max. Choose HeyGen when you do not need the caption templates or Frontier credit tiers.

invideo AI

You want another AI video tool and not this iOS credit list.

Captions publishes iOS-only prices, a free tier with no AI usage credits, and rollover up to 3× the monthly allowance. Choose invideo AI when that billing shape is not the job.

Captions: common questions

Is Captions free?

Yes. The free plan includes basic tools like trimming, transitions, and some media assets. AI usage credits for Free are None, and caption templates show 1. The FAQ recommends a subscription for generative AI.

Source
What do Max and Frontier cost?

Max is $24.99/mo with 500 credits. Frontier is $69.99/mo with 1,400 credits, Frontier 2x is $139.99/mo with 2,800, and Frontier 4x is $279.99/mo with 5,600. Enterprise is custom. These features and prices reflect iOS plans only.

Source
Do unused credits roll over, and is yearly cheaper?

Unused credits roll over to the next month, up to two extra months and 3× the monthly allowance. A yearly plan bills 12 months upfront at a discounted rate that is not shown. You can pay monthly instead.

Source
What happened to Mirage Studio?

The homepage says Captions recently merged Mirage Studio into Captions. A former subscriber logs in on Captions online and should see existing projects and actors, plus editing tools in the Captions workspace.

Source
Where can I use it, and what does export look like?

The help intro says iOS, web, and Android, with sign-up by Google, Apple, email, or phone. It says export at 1080p and publish to TikTok, Instagram, YouTube, and more. Subscription changes can be made in account settings or in the App Store or Google Play. The help index lists a page titled Watermark on Exported Video.

Source
Is there an API, and what does one credit buy?

The help intro says you can integrate AI video captioning and generation into your own apps with the Captions API. A linked line mentions credit-based pricing and rate limits, but the public intro does not list those limits or a credit cost per edit, image, or second of video. Training data exclusion is listed on enterprise plans, not as a free-plan switch.

Source

Sources & last checked

Oct 6, 2026 · NavHunt editorial

NavHunt did not run Captions. No account was created, no footage was uploaded, and no caption track, dub, or talking-head video was generated. This profile restates the homepage, pricing page, help intro, and solutions page reviewed on 6 October 2026. User counts and speed lines stay the vendor's wording. This description is based on Captions's official materials reviewed on 2026-10-06, including Captions homepage, Captions pricing, Captions help intro, Captions solutions.

Open Captions with footage or a script.

Sign up on the web or in the app, then check the free tools before you spend credits on an AI edit.

Explore Captions